Are you Gluten Free?
One of the owners of Scallop Cove is Gluten Free and here are some of her favorites options!
- Scallop Cove - We have many different GF snacks options!
- hamburgers without a bun are good
- dairy/gluten free popsicles
- GF Crackers
- GF Graham Crackers
- WOW cookies
- Ice Cream - some Blue Bell Ice Cream flavors
- wine slushies
- GF Beer
- their chicken/rice/veggies
- Quatros -
- any of their tacos on corn but my fav is the one with pineapple
- tom tom salad
- chicken pesto sandwich just no bread.
- Sometimes they have GF pasta and if not they offer to put and of their pasta over veggies or red potatoes
- If I bring them GF bread they will make me a any sandwich
- Sand dollar
- their menu changes all the time but the guys know their stuff and will be happy to tell you whats GF. Really good food!
- Keepers Bistro
- flowerless Chocolate cake
- They have many other options too.
- Sparks BBQ
- their baked potatoes
- all their meat is GF
- Brunos pizza in windmark
- Offer a GF pizza crust
- pesto sauce is amazing
- Hungry Howies
- has a GF pizza crust
- St Joe Shrimp Co
- smoked tuna dip (and get GF crackers from Scallop Cove)
- St Joe nutrition
- many of their teas are GF and refreshing
- shrimp and Mahi tacos (order with corn tortillas). Grouper plate, grits instead of bun. Shrimp and grits. Loaded nachos. Smoked pulled pork.
- Bayside Bakery
- Almond Joy Bars
What is a gluten-free diet?
Gluten refers to the proteins found in wheat, rye and barley which cause an adverse reaction in people with gluten-related disorders. On a gluten-free diet, these grains and any foods or ingredients derived from them must be removed from the diet. This includes the obvious breads, pastas and baked goods made with gluten-containing flours, but may also include less obvious foods such as sauces, salad dressings, soups and other processed foods, since these can contain small amounts of ingredients derived from gluten-containing grains. ( Oats are inherently gluten-free, but there can be cross-contact with wheat or barley during harvesting or processing. While products labeled gluten-free should comply with the FDA definition of containing no more than 20 ppm of gluten, this is not third-party verified. GFCO’s standard for gluten-free is 10 ppm of gluten or less.
5 THINGS TO REMEMBER ABOUT CELIAC DISEASE
1. It is not an allergy. It’s a common misconception that those with Celiac are allergic to gluten.
2. It is autoimmune. Those diagnosed with Celiac Disease suffer damage to the lower intestine if they ingest gluten.
3. Celiac for life. There is no cure or prevention, but following a gluten-free diet is the way of life!
4. Gluten hides everywhere. From beer to soy sauce, gluten is in far more items than the bread products lining the shelves of your local bakery.
5. Celiac leads to other issues. If undiagnosed, this autoimmune disease can lead to other issues, such as lactose intolerance, anemia, and GI cancers.
Get your chance to see a sea turtle in our bay!
Reserve a pontoon boat!